What Countries Are Apart of the Paris Climate Agreement

The Paris Climate Agreement, also known as the Paris Agreement, was signed in 2015 by 196 countries in an effort to combat climate change. Its aim is to limit global warming to below 2 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels and to pursue efforts to limit the temperature increase to 1.5 degrees Celsius.

So, what countries are part of the Paris Climate Agreement?

As of 2021, 189 countries have ratified the agreement, including major emitters such as the United States, China, and India. However, several countries have withdrawn or announced their intention to withdraw from the agreement. These countries include the United States, which withdrew in 2020 under the Trump administration, and Brazil, which announced its intention to withdraw in 2019 but has since reversed its decision.

Despite these withdrawals, the majority of the world`s countries remain committed to the Paris Agreement and continue to work towards its goals. Some countries have even set more ambitious targets than those outlined in the agreement. For example, the European Union has set a goal to become carbon neutral by 2050, while countries like Denmark and Sweden are aiming to achieve this as early as 2045.

It is important to note that the Paris Agreement is a non-binding agreement, meaning that there are no legally binding requirements for countries to meet their commitments. Instead, the agreement relies on transparency and accountability, with countries submitting regular reports on their emissions and progress towards their targets.

Overall, the Paris Climate Agreement represents a global effort to address the urgent issue of climate change. While there are still challenges to overcome, the commitment of the majority of the world`s countries provides hope for a sustainable future.